Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.internal_encoding is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 28 Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.input_encoding is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 29 Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.output_encoding is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 30 Call for papers
Strict Standards: Declaration of JCacheControllerView::get() should be compatible with JCacheController::get($id, $group = NULL) in /var/www/ on line 137

Call for papers


Call For Papers (version in PDF):

The 7th International Symposium on
Parameterized and Exact Computation IPEC 2012),
September 12-14, 2012, Ljubljana, Slovenia

The 7th International Symposium on Parameterized and Exact Computation (IPEC 2012) covers research in all aspects of parameterized/exact algorithms and complexity. Papers presenting original research in the area are sought, including but not limited to: new techniques for the design and analysis of parameterized and exact algorithms, fixed-parameter tractability results, parameterized complexity theory, relationship between parameterized complexity and  traditional complexity classifications, applications of parameterized and exact computation, and implementation issues of parameterized and exact algorithms. In particular, studies on parameterized and exact computations for real-world applications and algorithmic engineering are especially encouraged.

IPEC 2012 will be part of ALGO 2012, which also hosts ESA 2012, ALGOSENSORS 2012, WAOA 2012, ATMOS 2012, and MASSIVE 2012. ALGO 2012 will take place September 9-14, 2012 in Ljubljana, Slovenia.

Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract in English no longer than 12 pages using at least 11-point font, preferably in LNCS-style, describing original unpublished research. Simultaneous submission to other conferences with published proceedings is not permitted. Additional details as necessary may be included in a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the discretion of the program committee. Authors must submit their papers electronically. A detailed description of the electronic submission process is available at the symposium website. Program committee members (except the co-chairs) are allowed to submit papers.

Accepted papers will be published in the symposium proceedings in the Springer series Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Authors of accepted papers are expected to present their work at the symposium, and to incorporate the comments from the program committee

The Program Committee may award an Excellent Student Paper Award to one or more papers accepted to the symposium. A paper is elegible for the award if all authors are students at the time of submission, where a student is someone who has not been awarded a PhD before the paper submission deadline.

Invited Speackers:

Dániel Marx (MTA SZTAKI, Hungary)
Andreas Björklund (Lund University)


Saket Saurabh (IMS)
Michał Pilipczuk (University of Bergen)

Important Dates:

Paper Submission: June 19, 23:59 GMT
Notification of acceptance: July 15, 2012
Final manuscript due: July 29, 2012
Symposium: September 12-14, 2012

Program Committee

Jianer Chen Texas A&M University, College Station, USA
Marek Cygan, University of Warsaw, Warsaw, Poland
Henning Fernau, University of Trier, Trier, Germany
Fedor V. Fomin, University of Bergen, Bergen, Norway
Martin Grohe, Humboldt University of Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Daniel Král', Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic
Stefan Kratsch, Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik Saarbrücken, Germany
Mikko Koivisto, University of Helsinki, Helsinki. Finland
Igor Razgon, University of Leicester, Leicester, UK
Saket Saurabh, Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, India
Dimitrios M. Thilikos (co-Chair), National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
Erik Jan van Leeuwen, University of Rome 1 “La Sapienza”, Italy
Magnus Wahlstrom, Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik Saarbrücken, Germany
Gerhard Woeginger (co-Chair), Eindhoven University of Technology Eindhoven, Netherlands

Steering Committee:

Jianer Chen,
Michael Fellows,
Fedor V. Fomin (chair),
George Gutin,
Dániel Marx,
Peter Rossmanith,
Saket Saurabh,
Stefan Szeider,
Dimitrios M. Thilikos,
Gerhard Woeginger.

Additional information